UMN alumni receive the 2023 Distinguished Leadership Award for Internationals

Posted: August 15, 2023

The Global Programs and Strategy Alliance is pleased to announce the 2023 recipients of the Distinguished Leadership Award for Internationals - the University-wide award for alumni, former students, and friends of the University who have distinguished themselves in their post-university work as leaders in their professional careers

This year's recipients, Shwetlena Sabarwal and Tommy Westerlund, have attained distinction as professionals in their careers and have either demonstrated sustained outstanding achievement and leadership.

More about the 2023 recipients:

Shwetlena Sabarwal

Ph.D., Applied Economics and ICGC Scholar (2008)
College of Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences

As a senior economist at the World Bank, Shwetlena Sabarwal has led education programs in Bangladesh, Egypt, Nepal, Nigeria, Saudi Arabia, Tanzania, and Uganda, helping improve learning outcomes, student retention, and teacher performance for poor and disadvantaged students. 

Tommy Westerlund

M.S., Social and Administrative Pharmacy (1981)
College of Pharmacy

Since attending the University of Minnesota as a Fulbright Scholar from 1979 to 1981, Tommy Westerlund has become a recognized leader in pharmacy education, medication use, and healthcare in Sweden and throughout Europe. He was recognized as the Swedish pharmacist of the year in 1996 and has been active in the International Pharmaceutical Federation throughout his career.