Travel Advisories

U.S. Department of State Travel Advisories and Implications for ITRAAC

International Travel Risk Assessment and Advisory Committee (ITRAAC)

The U.S. Department of State has issued Travel Advisory Levels for all locations outside the United States. There are two types of Travel Advisories:

  • Country-wide Travel Advisories – Each country in the world has a designated travel advisory level from 1 (Exercise Normal Precautions) to 4 (Do Not Travel). The ITRAAC process will always refer to these as “Travel Advisories.”
  • Regional Travel Advisories – Select countries have within-country advisories that pertain to localities or sub-sections where higher levels of vigilance are recommended. The ITRAAC process will always refer to these as “Regional Travel Advisories.”

Please see below for updated list of Country-wide and Regional Level 3 and Level 4 Travel Advisories from the U.S. Department of State.

Reminder: The ITRAAC process applies to students participating in, and faculty and staff leading, an education abroad experience.

Country-wide Travel Advisories
Level 3 and Level 4

ITRAAC approval required*   

Start ITRAAC Process

Country-wide Level 1 and Level 2
with Regional Travel Advisories Level 3 and Level 4

ITRAAC approval may be required **

Expedited Review Process

*Prior ITRAAC approval is required for travel any of these countries. For more information, contact Kevin Dostal Dauer at:
**Prior ITRAAC approval may be required for travel to these countries if itinerary includes travel to Regional Travel Advisories Levels 3 or 4. Note that an Expedited Review process is available for travelers who have no intention of visiting a location designated as Level 3 or 4 by a Regional Travel Advisory within a country designated as Level 1 or 2. For more information, contact

NOTE: For purposes of this University policy, “students” include undergraduate, graduate, and professional degree students, residents, and fellows.