Faculty Advisory Committee

The Faculty Advisory Committee counsels and advises the GPS Alliance leadership on ways to further connect with, and support international academic engagement at home and abroad. FAC members serve for two years, with meetings to occur no more than twice each semester. On a rotating basis, FAC members will serve on awards, fellowship, and grant committees through which the GPS Alliance recognizes and supports faculty work and faculty accomplishments.


Elizabeth Borer
Associate Professor
Ecology, Evolution, and Behavior

Paul Porter
Agronomy and Plant Genetics

David Beard
Associate Professor
Rhetoric, Scientific and Technical Communication (Duluth)

Ken Bartlett
Professor; Organizational Leadership, Policy, and Development
Associate Dean, Faculty Development and International Initiatives

Michal Kolbiaka
Theatre Arts and Dance

Seth Naeve
Associate Professor, Agronomy and Plant Genetics
Extension Agronomist, University of Minnesota Extension

Mary Benbenek
Clinical Associate Professor
School of Nursing

Zhirong (Jerry) Zhao
Associate Professor
Humphrey School of Public Affairs

Susan Craddock
Gender, Women and Sexuality Studies

Paul Strykowski
Morse Alumni Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Associate Dean for Undergraduate Programs, College of Science and Engineering


Shailey Prasad
Associate Professor
Family Medicine and Community Health

For questions about the FAC, please contact Molly Portz, chief of staff, at mportz@umn.edu or 612-626-8792.